The apple of my eyes, that’s what you are -Sonnet ( by Fenny West)

 

 love is the greatest

The apple of my eyes, that’s what you are.

My treasured one, the best bird I can have.

Ruined and marred by the fall that kept you far.

Yet, I longed daily for you, my first love.  

Wondering and pondering which day you will come.

Waiting and looking for my broken dream

To come into my garden and bosom.

I looked here and there even in the stream.  

 

Prepared a sumptuous meal for you and I.  

But there, vacant remained your seat and place.

Gone for so long, I kept asking, ‘Why, Why?’

When will you return and show me your face.

 

  No one, nothing! can take your place, beloved.

For you, any mountain I would have moved.  

Leave a Reply

